Answers and questions on ultrasound

Hello. My husband and I are trying to get pregnant. The gynecologist prescribed ultrasound of pelvic organs to confirm corpus luteum. Tell me, on what day of the cycle is it better to do it?
Answer: 27.05.2021

Hello. The corpus luteum is formed after the rupture of the dominant follicle and the release of the egg from the ovary. This process is called ovulation. It occurs in the middle of the menstrual cycle. For example, with a 28-day cycle, ovulation can occur on the 14th day of the menstrual cycle, therefore the corpus luteum should be controlled on the 15-16th day. BUT ovulation may not occur every month and not necessarily clearly in the middle of the cycle, so folliculometry is the best option to do. Folliculometry is an ultrasound observation of ovarian activity. The ultrasound specialist monitors in which ovary the dominant follicle begins to form (the one where the future egg cell will mature), how it behaves during the first phase of the cycle, and then, in the second phase, fixes the fact of the presence or absence of the corpus luteum. With a standard 28-day menstrual cycle, the first ultrasound is usually prescribed on the 7-10th day. Then ultrasound is performed every 2-3 days or as agreed with the doctor until the fact of ovulation is established.

Koboleva Anastasia Evgenievna
Ultrasound diagnostics (ultrasound) doctor. Work experience 4 years.
Hello, doctor! Ultrasound of ovary is needed to determine the presence or absence of a cyst. Tell me, on what day of the cycle is it better to do it?
Answer: 27.05.2021

Follicular cysts occur due to the accumulation of fluid in the follicle as a result of hormonal disorders and are found mainly in childbearing age. Such cysts usually disappear within 1-2, less often 3 menstrual cycles.

If the fact of the presence of a "cyst" has already been established earlier, then it is better to conduct examination after menstruation (on the 3-5th day of the cycle).

Paraovarian cysts account for 8 to 16.4% of all ovarian masses and are diagnosed mainly between the ages of 20 and 40. Cysts can be either small (5-6 cm) or gigantic. The main and almost the only ultrasound sign of paraovarian cysts is visualization of a separately located ovary.

Endometrioid or “chocolate” cysts, named after the old blood they contain, are a form of external genital endometriosis. Endometrioid cysts not only do not disappear during dynamic observation, but can increase.

 A corpus luteum cyst occurs due to the accumulation of fluid in the place of a bursting follicle, sometimes it can contain blood. Such cysts occur between the ages of 16 and 45. To eliminate errors, a dynamic ultrasound is required in the 1st phase of the next menstrual cycle. With a corpus luteum cyst, observation is indicated for 1-3 menstrual cycles, since its reverse development is not excluded.

Koboleva Anastasia Evgenievna
Ultrasound diagnostics (ultrasound) doctor. Work experience 4 years.
Hello! I have appointment for ultrasound of pelvic organs, but tell me what they examine there? I have had my period delay for two weeks and all my tests are negative. There is also a small discharge and nagging pain in the lower abdomen. Will ultrasound be useful in this case?
Answer: 27.05.2021

An ultrasound examination (ultrasonography) of pelvic organs allows obtaining an image of the tissues and organs located in the lower abdomen and pelvis. In gynecology, this examination is most often used to assess the condition and structure of the uterus, cervix, ovaries, uterine (fallopian tubes), peri-ocular space and bladder (if it is sufficiently filled).

Ultrasound examination in gynecology is carried out in the following ways:

  • Transabdominal ultrasound of pelvic organs - examination of internal organs through the anterior abdominal wall. The procedure is performed with a full bladder and allows determining the size of the genitals, their structure and the presence of large pathological formations (tumors, cysts).
  • Transvaginal ultrasound - examination using a special probe inserted directly into the vagina. The method allows examining in more detail the structure of organs, determine the size, shape and structural features of pathological formations.
  • Combined - transabdominal scan with a full bladder and after emptying the bladder, switch to transvaginal examination. These two methods complement each other. 

Preparation for ultrasound of pelvic organs in women will differ depending on the method of examination.

Transabdominal ultrasound is done when the bladder is full. For examination to be the most informative, it is necessary to drink about 1 liter of liquid 1.5-2 hours before the examination.

For a transvaginal ultrasound, some preparation is also required. It is recommended to exclude foods that contribute to gas formation from the diet before the examination. The procedure is carried out with an empty bladder, therefore, it is necessary to urinate before the examination.

In your case, ultrasound will be useful and informative, because tests sometimes give a false negative or false positive result. An ultrasound specialist will assess the condition and structure of pelvic organs, then you need to contact a gynecologist, who, based on examination, ultrasound and additional tests (if required), will determine the exact reason for the delay and prescribe the necessary treatment.

Petrov Sergey Vladimirovich
Ultrasound diagnosis doctor (ultrasound). Work experience is 18 years.
Hello! Can you please tell me what preparation is needed for ultrasound of abdominal cavity? I’m going to make appointment and thinking when it’s more convenient.
Answer: 27.05.2021

Examination of abdominal organs requires a little preparation to ensure good visibility and to obtain reliable results.

Preliminary preparation includes the following:

  • special diet for 3 days;
  • before the examination, complete abstinence from food for 10-12 hours, for children - 8 hours (preparation is needed to prevent gas formation and collapsed gallbladder).

For three to four days, eliminate from your diet the food causing gas production: black bread, dairy products, nuts and mushrooms, fresh vegetables and fruits, legumes, sauerkraut, coffee, alcohol, carbonated drinks. Try to also limit your intake of fatty meat and sweets.

You can eat: lean poultry and fish, beef, baked apples without sugar, cereals, a small amount of eggs, hard cheese with a low percentage of fat.

On the doctor’s recommendation, drugs that improve digestion and reduce gas production can be added to the diet.

Such a diet for this type of ultrasound lasts until the evening before the examination (if the procedure is carried out in the morning). If your appointment is after 15:00, a light breakfast is allowed.

Petrov Sergey Vladimirovich
Ultrasound diagnosis doctor (ultrasound). Work experience is 18 years.

Вопросы и ответы по узи

Доброго времени суток. Пытаемся с мужем забеременеть. Гинеколог назначила УЗИ органов малого таза для определения наличия желтого тела. Скажите, на какой день цикла его лучше сделать?
Ответ: 27.05.2021

Здравствуйте. Жёлтое тело формируется после разрыва доминантного фолликула и выхода яйцеклетки из яичника. Этот процесс называется овуляцией. Она происходит в середине менструального цикла. Например, при 28-дневном цикле овуляция может произойти на 14 день менструального цикла, следовательно желтое тело нужно контролировать на 15-16 день. НО овуляция может происходить не каждый месяц и необязательно четко в средине цикла, поэтому лучше провести фолликулометрию. Фолликулометрия – это ультразвуковое наблюдение деятельности яичников. Врач по УЗИ отслеживает, в каком яичнике начинает формироваться доминантный фолликул (тот, где созреет будущая яйцеклетка), как он себя ведет в течение первой фазы цикла и затем во второй фазе фиксирует факт наличия или отсутствия желтого тела. При стандартном 28-дневном менструальном цикле обычно первое УЗИ назначают на 7–10-й день. Затем УЗИ проводят каждые 2–3 дня или по согласованию с врачом до того момента, как будет установлен факт овуляции.

Коболева Анастасия Евгеньевна
Врач ультразвуковой диагностики (УЗИ). Стаж работы 4 года.
Подскажите, пожалуйста! У меня уплотнение в левой молочной железе! Оно плотное, вроде не болезненное. Заметила это уплотнение на самоосмотре на 20 день цикла. Подскажите, что это может быть? Это онкология? Это можно увидеть на УЗИ молочных желез?
Ответ: 27.05.2021

Здравствуйте. Замечательно, что Вы проводите самообследование и почувствовали разницу. Уплотнение может быть доброкачественным, необязательно онкология. Для постановки диагноза необходимо пройти УЗ обследование, при необходимости дополнительно маммографию и получить консультацию у маммолога.

Шевченко Елена Борисовна
Врач ультразвуковой диагностики (УЗИ). Высшая категория. Стаж роботы 31 год.
Здравствуйте! Меня записали на УЗИ органов малого таза, а подскажите, что там смотрят? У меня задержка месячных уже две недели и все тесты отрицательные. Есть ещё небольшие выделения и тянет низ живота. УЗИ будет полезным в этом случае?
Ответ: 27.05.2021

Ультразвуковое исследование (УЗИ) органов малого таза позволяет получить изображение тканей и органов, которые расположены в нижних отделах брюшной полости и малого таза. В гинекологии чаще всего это исследование применяют для оценки состояния и структуры матки, шейки матки, яичников, маточных (фаллопиевых труб), околоматочного пространства и мочевого пузыря (при достаточном его наполнении)

Ультразвуковое исследование в гинекологии проводится такими способами:

  • Трансабдоминальное УЗИ органов малого таза – осмотр внутренних органов через переднюю брюшную стенку. Процедура проводится с наполненным мочевым пузырем и позволяет определить размеры половых органов, их структуру и наличие крупных патологических образований (опухоли, кисты).
  • Трансвагинальное УЗИ – осмотр с помощью специального датчика, вводимого непосредственно во влагалище. Метод позволяет более детально рассмотреть структуру органов, определить размер, форму и особенности строения патологических образований.
  • Комбинированное – трансабдоминальное сканирование с полным мочевым пузырем и после опорожнения мочевого пузыря переход на трансвагинальное исследование. Два этих метода взаимодополняют друг друга. 

Подготовка к УЗИ органов малого таза у женщин будет отличаться в зависимости от способа исследования.

Трансабдоминальное УЗИ проводится при наполненном мочевом пузыре. Чтобы исследование было наиболее информативным, необходимо за 1,5-2 часа перед обследованием выпить около 1 литра жидкости.

Для трансвагинального УЗИ тоже необходима некоторая подготовка. Рекомендовано перед обследованием исключить из рациона питания продукты, которые способствуют газообразованию. Процедура проводиться при пустом мочевом пузыре, поэтому перед исследованием необходимо помочится.

В Вашем случае УЗИ будет полезно и информативно, потому что тесты иногда дают ложноотрицательный или ложноположительный результат. Врач УЗИ оценит состояние и структуру органов малого таза, затем Вам нужно обратиться к гинекологу, который на основании осмотра, УЗИ и дополнительных анализов (если потребуются) определит точную причину задержки и назначит необходимое лечение.

Петров Сергей Владимирович
Врач ультразвуковой диагностики (УЗИ). Стаж работы 18 лет.
Добрый день! Подскажите, пожалуйста, какая нужна подготовка для УЗИ брюшной полости? Собираюсь записаться и думаю, когда будет удобнее.
Ответ: 27.05.2021

К обследованию органов брюшной полости нужно немного подготовиться, чтобы обеспечить хорошую видимость и получить достоверные результаты.

 В предварительную подготовку входит:

  • особая диета в течении 3 дней;
  • перед исследованием полное воздержание от еды в течение 10-12 часов, для детей - 8 часов (подготовка нужна для предотвращения газообразования и спавшегося желчного пузыря).

За три-четыре дня исключите из своего рациона продукты, повышающие газообразование: чёрный хлеб, молочные продукты, орехи и грибы, свежие овощи и фрукты, бобовые, квашеную капусту, кофе, алкоголь, газированные напитки. Постарайтесь также ограничить потребление жирного мяса и сладостей.

Можно употреблять: нежирную птицу и рыбу, говядину, запечённые яблоки без сахара, злаковые каши, небольшое количество яиц, твёрдый сыр с низким процентом жирности.

По рекомендации врача к диете можно добавить препараты, улучшающие пищеварение и снижающие газообразование.

Такая диета при данном виде УЗИ длится до вечера перед исследованием (если процедура будет проводиться с утра). Если же вам назначено время после 15:00, допускается легкий завтрак. 

Петров Сергей Владимирович
Врач ультразвуковой диагностики (УЗИ). Стаж работы 18 лет.

Последние статьи в блоге